jungle times - Reisverslag uit Naypyidaw, Myanmar van ohmshanti - WaarBenJij.nu jungle times - Reisverslag uit Naypyidaw, Myanmar van ohmshanti - WaarBenJij.nu

jungle times

Door: bram

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

10 Oktober 2008 | Myanmar, Naypyidaw

Mingalabaaaa!!!!!
Kwakwaaaa!!!!!!!
Huwaheee!!!!!!!!!

These are the main greetings here in my new environment, Burmese, Lisu and Ruang!

It s been a while since I updated my website for you…

Last news was from Salta, Argentina… instead of going for high altitude plains I stayed mainly downside of the Andean foothills and discovered a magic place – a tiny village on the border of a huge national park, cloudforest with natural hotsprings down in the valley. Centenary trees, waterfalls with pure water… you can grow veggies and fruit year round… I think it might become the place for my project!

With myself bumping into my long awaited spot I got really confused whether to go for another Burmese adventure or not…
I ended up changing my flight two times and finally did return to Belgium to give it a try! I spend a two weeks in my home enjoying seeing people back and getting ready to switch continent again…

So now I am here, in the uppermost northern secluded part of Myanmar, and I must say, since I arrived in my new temporary home, I haven’t regretted it for a second! It is a marvelous place, with stunning nature and beautiful people, totally away from the world. The people in the village are mainly Lisu and Ruang tribe’s people… and I swapped my in-house stay in the lodge to live in a house in the village! It is a Lisu house on the ground where the lodge has it’s nursery where I am responsible for. I have a huge garden to grow everything that I can imagine! In the lodge I hijacked a bungalow to make the spa headquarter and where I can train my staff to work in spa environment.
It is so nice to work with full smiling people all around you!

Most of the staff lives in the surrounding villages and we have an in-house staff of about ten people… it s a great team consisting of Burmese from different parts of the country and just 4 foreigners.

The first weeks we were out of communication with the outside world since lightning destroyed our generators and satellite-connection… it took two technicians and different parts to be send up in the scarce flights up here to restore our communication. It seems as well that there are some problems with the airlines here for the moment so even our two-flights-a-week airplanebridge with the world is getting reduced to once per week for the moment, if any… Our firs guests already got stuck here for some extra days before they could get out.

But we don t take it too hard for now and just enjoy our time here, getting everything ready for the full season flow, getting to know each other and the surrounding and do fun activities…

I tried to post some pics to share with you this unique experience I am living… sorry for the low resolution, but internet is painful slowly here, if any….

Surf to the following webpage to enjoy the views and see my new home and friends:

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=75071&l=6c3b3&id=612970934


Please send all mail to shantibib@gmail.com as it is the only mail I can open from here…all my other emails can not be read for the next half year!

Hope you are all good and always nice to hear news from you as well!

I send you many greetings from the lushy jungle in the foothills of the Myanmar Himalayan range…

U Bram (uncle Bram in Burmese)


  • 10 Oktober 2008 - 15:51

    Nikki:

    Wauw!prachtig Bram, nu de lukkige tijden!
    Groetjes uit Bierbeek

  • 10 Oktober 2008 - 21:01

    Frieke:

    waw!!als dit geen paradijs is...dan weet ik ook niet waar het is!! super! geniet ervan en hou ons op de hoogte van je welzijn! Je doet dat superdemegamaxgoe! Bram...be happy

  • 12 Oktober 2008 - 17:26

    Myriam En Oliver:

    Prachtige foto's. Veelbelovend.
    Alles OK met jullie beiden?
    Hopelijk blijft jullie roommate rustig.

  • 13 Oktober 2008 - 11:25

    Joke En Pieter:

    zo fijn te horen hoe mooi en fijn jullie daar wonen/zijn/leven. veel liefs aan je lieve Sarah; *het geeft een warm gevoel jullie af en toe in onze gedachten te hebben*

  • 13 Oktober 2008 - 16:14

    Evelien:

    Love the cow's!!!
    Ziet er zeer leuk uit, maar nog vele harde werk zeker???

  • 15 Oktober 2008 - 17:30

    Goedele:

    hoi lieve bram!
    leuk om van je te horen,'t klinkt goed!
    maar eh, je schrijft alleen maar in de ik-vorm...Sarah is toch nog wel in beeld? Ik wens jullie alle goeds toe! Heel veel liefs!

  • 18 Oktober 2008 - 15:23

    Karen:

    Hoi Bram,
    leuk van je te horen
    mooie plek!
    knuffel

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

You have to be the change you wish to see in this world! - Ghandi -

Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 352
Totaal aantal bezoekers 46401

Voorgaande reizen:

30 November -0001 - 30 November -0001

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: